2017 Goals

hello

This morning I knocked over my mop bucket, spilling dirty water all over the living room. Then I realized that my stove isn’t broken like I thought it was for the past week, but that the gas line just wasn’t opened all the way. New year, same me.

But also, new year, new goals! Well, mostly new goals. First let’s see what was on the docket for 2016.

  • Read 100 books. Check! I also put in there to only read books from my TBR list, but that turned out to be impossible because some books just aren’t available for free in ebook form and that’s pretty much what I’m working with.
  • Move to Jarabacoa. Done and done. 🙂
  • Publish The Nation. Not done. I did write a bunch more words for it though during NaNoWriMo 2016.
  • Blog once a week. I promptly forgot about this goal and actually have no idea if I rose to the challenge or not, but I’m pretty certain I did not.

Next, let’s talk about other awesome things that happened in 2016!

  • My parents came to visit me in the DR for the first time and I adopted my second dog, Georgie! All in the same week.
  • I spent my first summer in the DR. It was hot.
  • For the first time in my adult life I found myself NOT under a contract requiring me to abstain from alcohol. I kept not drinking alcohol because I think it tastes gross.
  • When someone stole my beta fish, Finnick, I adopted a cat and named him Finnick.
  • I traveled to a new Dominican city, Cabarete, for a weekend at the beach with new friends.
  • I experienced my first Michigan fall since 2011!
  • Someone hired me to write words! I got paid actual money to write in 2016 and will continue to get paid to write in 2017. I also got invited to be a part of With Her Heart, so my words are all over the internet now.
  • I got hired as an Area Director with YouthWorks! This has kind of been an unattainable dream job of mine for a couple of years now but since I’m not teaching this year I can totally take off to the States in mid May for my sixth summer with YouthWorks.

If I were to assign you, dear reader friend, a goal for 2017 it would be to follow Jeff Cook on Facebook. He was my Contemporary World Missions professor in college and he now works in Colorado doing great kingdom things. But you should follow him on Facebook because he posts THE BEST THINGS. Like this:

“If the bar you want to clear in 2017 doesn’t scare you, it’s not high enough. Don’t plan just what you feel you can accomplish; that’s not faith, that’s sight.

Plan on clearing a bar that is impossible unless God enables you.”

So with that in mind, here are my goals for 2017:

  • Read 100 books. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Also, since I’ll be in the States for three months this summer with access to multiple public libraries I would like to finish my TBR list this year. It’s down to 77 books, so I think I can do it!
  • Get more tattoos. Somehow I made it through 2016 without acquiring any new ink. That’s just sad.
  • Visit 3 new Dominican cities. I gotta get out more.
  • Start an English school. This is something I have been thinking about for a few months now but with work and other work and other work I have felt too overwhelmed to try to start something new. But then I read Jeff Cook’s words about setting the bar high, so it’s going on the list. I would like to start an English school, primarily for kids in my neighborhood, (probably) in my house just a couple of times a week.
  • Join a churchOnline church doesn’t count.
  • Hike Mogote. It’s a day hike that a lot of our hostel guests do here in Jarabacoa and I need to just get my butt up the mountain at least once this year.

The exciting part about setting goals is that I really have no idea what God has in store for me this year. I hope there’s a boyfriend in there somewhere and my plans are to go back to teaching after my summer with YouthWorks, but God always does crazy things, right? His plans are bigger and better than mine and so my ultimate goal is just to be open and ready for the things that life throws at me. To embrace the wildness that is life and to do my best every day to love the people around me. And to always be learning and to always be grateful.

2017, let’s do this.

3 thoughts on “2017 Goals

Leave a Reply

