41-50 of 100

I finally made it to the half-way point! I’m five books behind schedule but still trucking along.

MEH
1.jpg

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng should be an awesome mystery tale. The first line is “Lydia is dead.” I mean, talk about an opener! The thing is solving the mystery means learning about how awful Lydia’s family is. There is virtually no one to root for in the story. It’s a real downer of a book and when we finally find out how Lydia died it’s a real anticlimactic letdown. (Mystery)

I loved the message of Bill Konigsberg’s The Porcupine of Truth. I’m glad he wrote it. But most of it is just a little too on the nose for me. God, God, God and gay, gay, gay. Nothing subtle about it. BUT Konigsberg does manage to make you think rather than tell you what to think, which I really appreciate. The last few chapters of the book are golden. (Young Adult, LGBT)

I’m done letting them own God.
Nobody gets to use God as a weapon
against me anymore.
I just reject that stuff.
Nobody owns my God.
– The Porcupine of Truth, Bill Konigsberg

WWII
1.jpg

I have read more than my fair share of WWII books but All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr was unlike any other. Written in the present tense this story is told from the perspective of two very different young people playing two very different roles in the war. Doerr didn’t go for shock and awe. He told a story of humanity. (Historical Fiction)

It strikes [him] just then as wondrously futile
to build splendid buildings, to make music,
to sing songs, to print huge books full of colorful birds
in the face of the seismic, engulfing indifference of the world –
what pretensions humans have!
Why bother to make music
when the silence and wind are so much larger?
Why light lamps
when the darkness will inevitably snuff them?
– All the Light We Cannot See, Anthony Doerr

Somehow I managed to make it to 26 without reading Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut. I’m glad I finally got to read it. I enjoyed it immensely. I loved the quick moving narration and the imaginative elements. (Fiction, Classics)

THRONE OF GLASS
1.jpg

It’s been awhile since I read past the first book in a series so Sarah J. Maas did something I liked! I didn’t move on to the third, however, because our girl Celaena started getting a little ridiculous and hypocritical and dramatic about things. But besides that I really enjoyed Throne of Glass and Crown of MidnightIt’s fun reading about an assassin who also happens to be a teenage girl. I think Maas does a good job of balancing Celaena’s orphaned teenage girl side with her violent murdering side. Plus she manages to throw a romance in there (which, let’s be honest, was the main reason why I read the second book) and a scene where the girl totally rescues the guy. (Fantasy, Young Adult)

You could rattle the stars.
You could do anything,
if only you dared.
Throne of Glass, Sarah J. Maas

1.jpg

I definitely understand why Me Before You by Jojo Moyes is so popular. What a love story! What I don’t understand is why anyone would want to see the movie after having read the book. I can’t put myself through that again. I read this on an airplane and cried like crazy. Snot and tears everywhere. My first thought after you-know-who you-know-whats was that this is like The Fault in Our Stars for grown ups. Except this book did change my perspective a bit on you-know-which issue. (Fiction)

You only get one life.
It’s actually your duty
to live it as fully as possible.
Me Before You, Jojo Moyes

Aziz Ansari really impressed me with Modern Romance. He really did his homework and has some wise things to say about how we start and build relationships these days. He quotes statistics and studies but also says things like “bing bong” and “wackadoodle.” I just pictured Aziz telling me all of these facts and coming to all of these conclusions and I loved it. It was really fun reading this book but I also feel much more enlightened when it comes to relationships in the 20-teens. (Nonfiction)

We want something that’s very passionate,
or boiling, from the get-go.
In the past, people weren’t looking
for something boiling;
they just needed some water.
Once they found it and committed
to a life together,
they did their best to heat things up.
Now, if things aren’t boiling,
committing to a marriage seems premature.
Modern Romance, Aziz Ansari

FAVORITES
1.jpg

I was really nervous to read Stieg Larsson’s The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo because I had heard about the intense sexual assault scenes. But I had forgotten how desensitized I’ve been from watching every episode of CSI and Criminal Minds. This was the best two perspective book I’ve ever read. I never rushed through one narrative to get to another. In fact, it was always a nice surprise when we switched perspectives. “Oh, Salander! I forgot about her!” I said that reading In Cold Blood was like reading an episode of Criminal Minds but this book was even more so. I loved it! (Mystery)

I just think that it’s pathetic
that creeps
always have to have someone
else to blame.
– The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Stieg Larsson

Reading Ready Player One by Ernest Cline was possibly the most fun I’ve had reading a book ever. It’s about video games, which usually wouldn’t be fun for me, but it’s totally interactive and immersive and about relationships and the devolution of humankind. All of that takes place within the context of video games, yes, but it all comes together to be a very full, exciting, and impressive story. (Science Fiction)

 
More book quotes: Words, Wisdom, etc.

 

2 thoughts on “41-50 of 100

Leave a Reply

