Beta readers – A request and an offer

untitled-1024x791.jpg

The time has come for me to finish my dang book. The one I started three NaNoWriMos ago! I’m feeling a little stuck though, knowing that it’s not quite finished but not knowing what to do with it or where to go from here. So I’m looking for some fresh eyes. Would anyone be willing to read The Nation and offer up any comments or feedback? I’m really just looking to see what needs to be clarified, what needs to be polished, what needs to be better developed, and what’s good to go as it is. The thing’s only 118 pages in a Word document and moves along pretty quickly. It’s good ol’ YA dystopian future type stuff, a novel that covers the childhood and adolescence of six different citizens of  The Nation, one from each of the six settlements.

Please let me know if you would be willing to give The Nation a read and if you’d be willing to throw some feedback my way and I’ll e-mail you a pdf of the thing along with a list of prompting questions you can answer if you feel like it. THEN when I finally do finish the book and self publish it, you can get a free copy of the polished up final draft.

I hate to have to say this, but last time I asked for beta readers almost fifteen people said that yes, of course, they would LOVE to read my book! And then only one person did. Wah wah. Reading a book takes some time and so if you do not have the time to read a 118 page long Word document, don’t feel for at any reason obligated to say that you do.

On a related note, I LOVE beta reading things for people. If you need something of yours read, I’d be more than happy to give it a read and I’m told I give helpful feedback (both on content and on grammar). Let’s help each other out, writer friends!

6 Replies to “Beta readers – A request and an offer”

  1. Ditto!! Actually, that lovely first commenter and I are already writing buddies and have critiqued each other’s books and writing samples. She is a fabulous beta reader and I’m hoping she’d give me a good recommendation as well. You can email me what you need at amykdoepker AT gmail

Leave a Reply

