Here’s the thing about June

June was an exhausting month. We finished up the school year at Las Palmas and then I worked a week with YouthWorks in Brooklyn and spent the last couple of days of June running around getting things in order for my visa application!

Brooklyn2
The awesome crew I worked with in Brooklyn last week!

BLOG POSTS & ARTICLES //

For God so loved Caitlyn Jenner by Marty Duren – “I do not know how we demonstrate the love of Jesus to the transgender, gender confused, and gender reassigned among us if we do not begin by trying to understand what they are going through or have been through. Contrary to prevalent response, condemning people at every turn is an ineffective evangelism strategy. Listening and loving works better.”

Christians Are Quick to Judge this Famous New Believer, But How Different Is He from the Disciples? at faith it – “Bad language may take years to weed out. Even more difficult to extract is the pride that drives judgmental Christians to mock the Spirit’s work in a man seeking his Creator. That sin could take decades to discover.”

The Tom Haverford Guide to Online Dating (and Arranged Marriage) at Mockingbird – “I’ve been saying for years I’d be a-okay with an arranged marriage. It’s the commitment and partnership that sounds appealing to me.”

Abby’s Purpose at Life of Julie Teague – “Immediately, a peace and a thankfulness that I can not quite understand or explain came over me.  At that very moment, I felt incredibly special. I felt chosen. God trusted me with the most amazing soul that I have ever known.”

The Importance and Meaning of Rainbows: An Essay by an 8-Year-Old Boy at Five Kids Is A Lot Of Kids – “Rainbows are the most cool in science because you get to see that light is made up of the colors of the rainbow. All of the colors are very different and beautiful, and the rainbow is the most beautiful of all because it is all the colors together. It is just like God shining through us. We are all different and beautiful, and we’re even more beautiful all together.”

A Way to Have Conversations That Will Lead to Deeper Relationships at Storyline – “Questions are like gifts. It’s the thought behind them that the receiver really FEELS. We have to know the receiver to give the right gift and to ask the right question.”

MOST POPULAR MONTH //

Here’s the thing about a clean conscience“Just like it’s important to check in with your breath, to consciously breathe in and out steadily and softly and purposefully, many times throughout your yoga practice, it’s important to check in with your soul. To consciously soak in the good stuff steadily and softly and purposefully many times throughout your day. Find what feels good, what makes your soul sing, and then live the crap out of it.”

MOVIES //

Wet Hot American Summer – I heard they were making a sequel or something to this movie and thought I should watch it. It’s pretty funny.

Pitch Perfect on Netflix – I saw this movie back when it first came out and thought it was just eh. It had been talked up so much that I think my expectations were just too high. With the release of Pitch Perfect 2, and with the information that Pentatonix and Flula were in it!, I wanted to watch the first again before seeing the second! So I did and I really enjoyed it.

Pitch Perfect 2 – Yay Flula! I enjoyed this one – not as much as the first, though, because of that weirdo bad acting new girl and the random Latina chick who was just around for stereotypical joke-making.

Identify Thief on Netflix – In the spirit of rewatching movies that were a let down the first time I watched Identity Thief again. It was funnier the second time around, probably because I hadn’t just seen all the funny parts in previews and because I knew to just skip on over that sex scene between Melissa McCarthy and Cam.

Jeff, Who Lives at Home on Netflix – Warning!! This movie is not a comedy. I felt so many feelings. Jason Segal really brought it!

It’s Kind of a Funny Story – I read the book not realizing I had already seen the movie and enjoyed the book so well I wanted to watch the movie again! This is a nice little one. Some feelings, but not too many. It’s mostly uplifting while still acknowledging the realities of living life.

The Cobbler on Netflix – I like Adam Sandler, which is why I picked this one, but it was just okay. I wasn’t impressed, but I wasn’t mad either. I liked the idea of walking in people’s shoes, but the storyline got weird.

VIDEOS //

Kid President’s 20 Things We Should Say More Often by SoulPancake – “Number 20: Thank you…”

Melissa McCarthy Faces a Critic by TheEllenShow – “In Melissa McCarthy we trust.”

9 to 5 – Dolly Parton (Auto Tunes f. Mametown) by Flula – Flula and Mamrie are my favorite thing on YouTube along with Jimmy Fallon videos.

Bradley Cooper and Jimmy Fallon Can’t Stop Laughing (Uncut Version) by The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon – Jimmy Fallon videos are my favorite thing on YouTube alone with Flula and Mametown.

Jersey Floor Episode 2 by Rebeca Santos – I’m behind, but these are hilarious.

Boy Talk W/ Flula by chestersee – First of all, Chester is the cutest. Second of all, Flula’s first kiss was a girl named Suzanne!

Target Takes A Body-Positive Approach This Summer at Huffington Post – Yay Target!

Evolution of Disney by Todrick Hall – Todrick Hall is so talented and hard working and his videos are great!

These Cheerleader Tricks are Insanely Hot and Impressive at Nothing Cooler – I will never not be impressed by a man holding up a woman in one hand.

Eminem’s “Lose Yourself” in American Sign Language is Incredible at Us Weekly – Beautiful and powerful!

WORDS OF WISDOM //

j
Source
Leave a Reply

