Here’s the thing about September

Here’s the thing about September – it’s over. Crazy, huh? Only three more months before we’re ringing in another new year (which I’ll be doing in Brooklyn, baby – hazah!). Only three more weeks until we end our first marking period at Las Palmas, which means my first grade sweethearts and I will be a quarter of the way done with our first year in Elementary School. Let me tell you, my students are rock stars. I sent out Progress Reports on the very last day of this sweet September and those Progress Reports contained many, many A’s. They are so smart and caring and dancey and fun and I am so fortunate.

In this sweet month of September I went to the beach (then peeled the burnt skin off my shoulders for two weeks) and to the movies! I played games with friends and danced some, too. I bought two fish! I read a crap ton of books and started hanging out with Grayson and her friends in the Commonwealth again. Maybe this new year will be the year in which I finally finish writing a novel. Maybe. It will definitely be another year of this kind of internet stuff…

P1050252BLOG POSTS & ARTICLES //

Columbia Student Will Carry a Mattress Everywhere Until Her Alleged Rapist Is Expelled at New York Magazine – “I was raped in my own dorm bed, and since then that space has become fraught for me, and I feel like I’ve carried the weight of what happened there with me everywhere since then.”

Behind Every Bullied Woman Is a Man Yelling About Free Speech at Jezebel – “I’m starting to think that maybe men on the internet don’t think that women are actually people. There’s really no other way to explain the horrifying lack of empathy so many of them show, time and time again, when women of all levels of fame are treated like they exist to be bullied and mocked.”

Single Mom Brought To Tears When Given Thousands To Start Her Own Cleaning Business at Huffington Post – This is what my friend Dr. Cook and his friends are up to in Denver!

Why It Doesn’t Matter How You Feel About Your Friends by Shauna Niequist at Storyline – “It doesn’t matter how much you love someone. What matters is that they know it.”

Why I Don’t Give Straight Answers About Homosexuality (Because Everyone Starts Yelling) by J.S. Park – “Raising the issue of sexuality merely reduces a person to an issue, but they’re a whole person with a whole life with many other real concerns. To simply ask about ‘homosexuality as sin’ is woefully narrow-minded and presumes a response that’s isolated in a non-existent vacuum.” (*Also, J.S. Park wrote a book and it’s less than $5 so…. let’s all read it.)

25 Of The Most Dangerous And Unusual Journeys To School In The World at Bored Panda – The value of education.

10-Year-Olds Should Not Be Day Laborers by Jen Hatmaker – ”Hundreds of children are now in school instead of working, hundreds of families are kept intact instead of devastated by disruption, and ten years from now, hundreds of young adults will contribute to the local economy and take their rightful place as the next generation of local leaders.”

24 Painfully Accurate Teacher Hashtags at BuzzFeed – I’m seriously considering that #nocheating one.

This is 200 at Brittany, Herself – ¨My weight wasn´t holding me back. I was holding me back.¨

All The ‘Arrested Development’ Quotes You Should Still Be Using In Every Day Conversation at UPROXX – Just FYI.

Former strip club transformed into community center at WISH-TV – Look what God is doing in Indy!! Redemptive and restorative stuff, that’s what. (I totally painted that basement last summer.)

10 Rhetorical Questions to Stop Using in the Classroom at One Lesson at a Time – “When we act and speak out of frustration, we make our classrooms feel less safe, less supportive, and ultimately, less conducive to learning.”

On the Subject of Internal Reality at The Golden Year – “What you want and how you feel are not the defining factors of how you should live.”

MY MOST POPULAR POST //

Here’s the thing about God and Harry Potter – “One of the things that helps me know Who God is more is Harry Potter… Seriously.”

MOVIES & TV SHOWS //

Whip It on Netflix – I can’t believe it took me this long to see this guy! Bliss is such a cute name and I love the Hurl Scouts! Are there any two cuter gals than Ellen Page and Alia Shawkat? Plus how could you go wrong with Kristin Wiig and Drew Barrymore? It’s just a nice movie about being yourself and not settling. It’s also about being tough and knocking girls to the floor.

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey on Netflix – These crazy Lord of the Rings movies are like comfort food. One day I will understand what the heck is happening in them.

The Maze Runner in Theaters – Boy do I love the movie theater! Especially when it only costs $3 to see brand new movies and then only another $5 for a large Coke, large popcorn, and a bag of peanut M&Ms. Life in the Caribbean is good, my friends. You can read about how the actual movie made me feel here, just one post ago.

Arrested Development on DVD – I know that September is the month when all our shows come back, but my internet has been so shoddy and to watch TV shows that actually aired this year I have to use proxy servers and unblockers and I have to do it all within three feet of the wifi box because, like I said, shoddy, and I’m just too afraid of the inevitable failure of one or more of the moving parts involved in something like watching recent television that I’ve avoided the whole darn thing. As much as I would love to hear what crazy awesome things Schmidt is saying this year and what stupid corny things they’re saying over on CSI, current seasons of TV shows just might not be in the cards for me anymore. So I’m stuck reliving three years with the Bluths, which isn’t a bad place to be, if you know what I’m saying. Until I stay up too late on a school night watching AD. Then the first words out of my mouth the next morning are, “I’ve made a huge mistake,” and I’m yawning through math class.

VIDEOS & MUSIC //

“Weird Al” Yankovic – Tacky – I’ve never been a big Weird Al fan, but this one is just too good not to watch. Just try it.

This Video Of A Bunch Of Giant Men Holding Tiny Kittens For The First Time Is Adorable – Kittens and men – two of my favorite things!

Country hip hop dancing – It’s “cowboy hip hop.” That should be enough said.

Jimmy Fallon, Meghan Trainor & The Roots Sing “All About That Bass” (w/ Classroom Instruments) – Did you hear? Every inch of you is perfect from the bottom to the top.

Kevin, Karla y La Banda and Dani Ride – These beautiful, genius people do Spanish versions of English Top 40 songs. Flawlessly. So good. Plus all their videos include the lyrics – not a bad way to learn Spanish. (There’s already a 50+ playlist up there on YouTube that I’ve pretty much listening to exclusively since a friend of mine introduced me to La Banda.)

Of Monsters and Men My Head Is An Animal – The parts of September before I knew about Kevin, Karla y La Banda I spent listening to the Of Monsters and Men album. On repeat.

BOOKS //

An American Tragedy by Theodore Dreiser – So long but good! Entertaining and not superfluous and I learned so many new words and I just love the 20s! The style of writing and the words, the words that mean so many things and mean exactly the right thing just make me happy. This book is based on a true story of murder and it was interesting to watch it all unfold. The last 100 pages or so were a bore, but I kind of skimmed till the end.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – I think I had read this one before. It felt familiar. But that familiarity didn’t stop it from straight up shocking my system. I was an emotional wreck the morning I read most of this story. Then I read some reviews on GoodReads and wrote this.

Beloved by Toni Morrison – Words have power, no? Toni Morrison and this story are proof of that. If I had one word to describe Beloved it would be that one – powerful. If I had a couple of phrases in which to summarize the story it would these – “Desperate people do desperate things,” and “Humans have the capacity to wreck each other, but they also have the capacity to put each other back together again.”

The Brief, Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz – I wasn’t sure I was going to finish this book after a couple of chapters. There’s some smut to get through at the beginning but, as my favorite Bluth would say, “so glad we pushed through that.” This book taught me a lot about Dominican history, especially the Trujillo dictatorship that ended about thirty years ago. Better still, I learned those things through story and narrative! My favorite way to learn things.

Bedknob and Broomstick by Mary Norton – As part of my first Book Challenge I read The Borrowers by Mary Norton. Before reading it I was super excited because the movie is really fun but then I found the book to be boring. I was nervous Bedknob and Broomstick would be a similar situation since my brothers and I loved the movie when we were younger (and probably still would if anyone owned VCRs anymore). Thankfully, this little novel was not boring. It was super different from the movie, but still fun.

Atonement by Ian McEwan – I’m impatient and McEwan uses a lot of words. (Which is a funny thing to say after my words on An American Tragedy.) I found myself especially enjoying Robbie’s war journey which isn’t usually something I enjoy reading about. It’s kind of a sad story, really, but still a worthwhile read I suppose.

Almost Perfect by Brian Katcher – My friend had recommended this book to me and based on her recommendation and summary I was super excited to read it. But because she had told me a bit about it (and because I read the summary on GoodReads) I knew Sage’s secret right from the beginning. I wish I hadn’t. I think the story might’ve impacted me more if I didn’t. So I’m not going to tell you Sage’s secret, but I am going to tell you to read it (it’s a YA romance – just a heads up) without reading any summaries! But on second though maybe you should read the summary because this book could be super triggering for some people. I’m glad books like this exist.

The Maze Runner by James Dashner – Once upon a time my friends and I decided to go see The Maze Runner and I decided to read the whole book the morning before. Then obviously I blogged about it. As soon as The Scorch Trials is available on the ebook library I’m totally taking a break from this Book Challenge to continue on The Maze Runner journey.

WORDS OF WISDOM //

car

il_570xN.328544789
(Source.)
car
(Source.)
Leave a Reply

