Here’s another thing about my first Book Challenge

Reading 100 books in 10 months sure was an experience. Since I live in the Dominican Republic, I had to read most of the books on my Kindle, which isn’t my favorite way to read books but I’m super grateful that ebooks are things because libraries are hard to come by around these parts. Plus it made getting to the States and to a library that much more of a treat. “Real books?!” I literally stuck my nose in those suckers and breathed in deep that glorious book smell. 

My old roommate used to love when I’d read Harry Potter because I’d laugh right out loud while reading. (You’ll notice that although five of the Harry Potter books are named among the Best Children’s Chapter Books of All time, none of them appear of any of my Superlative lists. That’s because I trust that you all know how much I love JK Rowling and the HP series and I thought it best to leave those spots to other books I’m less obsessed with.) Oftentimes I’d rather be alone when I’m reading because it’s not uncommon for me to cry real tears (and sob real sobs) because of a book. 

During this Book Challenge I did a bit of both laughing and crying. And here’s why.

Fotor081421151

12 FUNNIEST CHILDREN’S CHAPTER BOOKS OF ALL TIME
(AKA Books That Made Me LOL)

A Long Way from Chicago by Richard Peck
Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren
Holes by Louis Sacher
The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster
Sideways Stories from Wayside School by Louis Sacher
Ramona the Pest by Beverly Cleary
Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket
The Book of Three by Lloyd Alexander
The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl

Fotor0814211931

SADDEST CHILDREN’S CHAPTER BOOKS OF ALL TIME
(AKA Books That Made Me COL – Cry Out Loud)

Number the Stars by Lois Lowry
Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech
Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson
Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli
Black Beauty by Anna Sewell
Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell

//

What about you? To whom do you turn when you need a good literary laugh? Which characters life events never fail to jerk a tear from your eye?

Leave a Reply

