Here’s the thing about words and pictures

282567_10150340586942959_1805725_n
Picture by her.

I want to cover my body with words and pictures

To paint my temple with a story

I want my very being to say something

To be something

To mean something

I want to carve out memories in my flesh

Leaving a trail of ink and stencils behind me as I go

I want to move forward but never forget

I want to remember but never sit still

I want to carry with me the people and places I’ve seen and been

I want to plant in my very skin seeds of love and learning

Seeds that will grow and flourish in the light of Life

in the light of Day

in the light of Love

in the light of conversation and question and yes, even doubt

Seeds that remind me of where I’ve been

Seeds that point me forward to where I want to go

Seeds that spell out words of strength and dependence

This body, this temple, this carcass, this shell, this all of me

I want it to be all of me

This flesh, this skin, this heart, this soul, this all I have to give

I want to give it my all

And my all is more than trappings and decorations

My all is more than hairstyles and clear blue eyes

My all is more than “Rubia!” and the shade of my skin

My all is a story, is saying something

is pictures and words

is being and meaning

is memories and paths forward

These marks, these pieces of me, this art you use to condemn me

These holes in my ears

These scars on my face

This ink in my skin

This ink in my skin

This ink in my skin

is all of me

is what it looks like when I give my all

 

I want to cover my body with words and pictures

I want my very self to be a reminder

of Goodness and Truth and Community and Light

I want my very being to say something

Even if what I’m saying you’d rather not hear

 

I want to paint my temple with a story

My story

Your story

His story

Our story

The story

 

I’m choosing to make it all a part of me

Forever

Permanently

I’m choosing to live my story with all of me

Forever

Permanently

Leave a Reply

