I won!

I won! I won the Liesbter Award. Twice!

Okay so I won the Liebster Award like I won NaNoWriMo. I didn’t really win anything, like a prize or a competition. I didn’t beat anybody at anything. My win is not anybody else’s loss. Basically, I just did my little thing over here on this blog and someone (make that two someones!) wonderfully kind and gracious noticed. And I won!
Image
The Liebster Awardis a chain blog award passed around the blogging community as a sweet, simple and encouraging way of getting to know other bloggers and celebrating their work.
The best part about it is that the award is given to blogs with 500 or less followers, which encourages their readership to grow, and connects them with at least 10 other blogs. How great is that?

The rules:

  • Thank the blogger who gave it to you.
  • Answer the 11 questions they ask you.
  • Nominate 11 bloggers with less than 500 followers.
  • Ask those 11 bloggers 11 questions.
  • Let those bloggers know they’ve been nominated so they can continue the chain!

First and foremost, Thank you, Andrea!! The fact that anyone reads my blog that isn’t my mom or my roommate blows my mind all the time. each lovely thing is such a lovely thing! Our love of cats and sparkly things connect us. (Also, I stole the Liebster Award description/instructions straight from Andrea because why reinvent the wheel?)

Second and also foremost, Thank you, The Snarky Pastor’s Wife! First, for having such an amazing blog-handle and second, for the nomination. From the little I’ve read so far, The Snarky Pastor’s Wife is asking the hard questions, looking past the fluff. Our love of realness and aversion to keeping up appearances connect us.

each lovely thing’s questions:

  • What accomplishment are you most proud of?
    The accomplishments that bring me the most pride these days are the small, every day ones. Doing things by myself like taking the cat to the vet, traveling to a new city, upgrading our internet, and having curtains made become very big accomplishments when I’m doing them in my second language. Now, nearing the end of my second year of teaching in the Dominincan Republic, I finally am starting to feel like I can really do things on my own. Of course, we were designed to live in community and I’m not too proud to ask for help/resources (like phones that can call the United States!), but I’m getting the hang of this stuff, getting bolder, and definitely getting better at speaking Spanish. I guess you could say I’m most proud of my international move and how it’s been pretty successful.
  • If you were going to write a book, what would you call it and what would it be about?
    Funny you should ask… I am writing a book! It’s called Grayson of the Commonwealth and it’s about a girl named Grayson and her friends Finn, Lila, and David and their life in a closed settlement called the Commonwealth. Grayson is obsessed with the idea of the Outside, the world that exists outside the walls of her hometown while her friends feel that life on the Inside is enough to worry about. I don’t want to give away too much, so that’s all I’ll say. It’s a YA dystopian future novel (because there aren’t enough of those) and should be ready for some beta readers by the end of the summer!
  • If someone asked you to give them a random piece of advice, what would you say?
    Honesty is always the best policy. I’ve seen too many (mostly fictional) relationships ruined because one person in the relationship is too afraid or too selfish to be honest with their partner.
  • If you could go back in history, who would you like to meet?
    Could I stay right here in history and meet JK Rowling? Because that’d be awesome.
  • What kind of vacations do you like?
    The kinds that involve a lot of sit-down games and new restaurants. I enjoy camping and staying in cabins and bonfires. I like vacations with friends and ice cream and interactive downtime. I don’t mind learning on vacation and I certainly don’t mind going off the beaten track.
  • What’s something most people don’t know about you?
    When I was younger I was a bit self-conscious about the size of my feet. (They’re pretty big.) I remember really identifying with Michelle Tanner on Full House (we’re about the same age, both blonde, and my middle name is Michelle) and one episode really hit home for me. Michelle was feeling self-conscious about her big feet, too. She was going through a growth spurt and her feet were just so big! One night she had a nightmare that her feet grew and grew and kept growing until they filled up the whole house! After watching that episode I had the same nightmare. Thankfully I’ve grown into my feet, but I’ll never lose that connection I have with Michelle Tanner.
  • If you knew you would die tomorrow, would you feel cheated today?
    No! I would feel incredibly unworthy of all the grace and beauty and love I’ve received. I would also feel so pumped at the opportunity to praise my great God forever for all of that grace, beauty, and love.
  • What’s something you wish everyone knew about you?
    I really just want to be like Jesus. Honestly and truly the most important thing to me is to honor Him and please Him and live a life worthy of Him. Sometimes I fall so short, but ultimately, this is my desire. In the here and now it’s easy for people to focus on my tattoos or my words or my volume or my taste in entertainment. I want everyone to know that all of that means nothing to me compared to Jesus.
  • What was the highlight of your day so far?
    Hugs from my students and surprise cool breezes are the highlight of every day.
  • What inspired you to start a blog?
    I’ve been “blogging” for years now, I suppose. In middle school and high school I had countless LiveJournals, but more recently (more recently meaning three years ago) I started a Tumblr just before I spent three months in Paraguay in an attempt to keep everyone updated about my time there. I enjoyed it so much that I kept it going! I switched to WordPress a few months ago because I started reading different women’s blogs (mostly Sarah BesseyElora Nicole, and Jamie the Very Worst Missionary) and thought, Oh, blogging is actually a thing. People I don’t even know could read what I’m writing! We could learn from each other! It was because of those women (two of which have also successfully written and published a book) that I got more serious about blogging. I thought, If they can be successful at this, I can, too. If they can inspire me, maybe I can inspire someone else. Ultimately, though, I write because God has asked me to and I blog because I have a lot to say.
  • If you could change one thing from your life as it is today, what would it be?
    It’s an amazing miracle that the first thing that popped into my mind wasn’t, “A husband!” That’s growth, man. In August I’ll be moving to first grade. If I could change something about my life it would be that someone experienced and wonderful and awesome could come teach first grade so I could stay in kindergarten.

The Snarky Pastor’s Wife’s questions:

  • What’s something you have yet to do, that you would regret not having done, if you were on your deathbed right now?
    Finish a novel and have actual people read it and enjoy it.
  • So that you won’t have that regret, what are you going to do about that wish now?
    After I answer these questions I am going to write another chapter!
  • What is your favourite place in the world that is not a major tourist attraction/destination?
    Our family cabin the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Or just Northern Michigan in general. Trees and lakes and ice cream cones are my favorite place in the world.
  • If you could have one special skill/talent, what would it be? (eg. to be fluent in every language in the world, to be an incredible singer, etc.)
    I’d really like to be able to sew – to make and alter clothes.
  • If you could be any animal for a day, what would it be and why?
    A whale. I have this weird love/hate relationship with large bodies of water, the ocean in particular, and I think being a whale would be the least scary way to experience the ocean and see what kind of stuff goes on down there.
  • What is the wackiest event/food/place you have experienced?
    Absolutely nothing comes to mind. Is picking out your own freshly caught fish and then eating it ten feet from the ocean where it was caught wacky?
  • Who/What is your inspiration?
    Women who write honestly from their souls. Women who love themselves and know that they are beautiful because of who they are, not because of how they look. Women who love their bodies. Women who love others. Women who are themselves out loud and unashamed. Women of all ages who live their lives free to dance and love and cry and laugh and compliment and Praise and Pray and encourage and admonish. Women who live life uncaged and free.
  • How do you measure success for yourself?
    Do I look more like Jesus today than I did yesterday? Than I did last year?
  • How do you handle stress?
    Pretty well, I think. I’m a problem solver by nature so as long as I can prioritize and make a list I can get things done. There have been a couple of times since high school (I feel like my pre-college years involved very little to no stress) when I’ve been too overwhelmed even for list making. When that happens I go to the movies. I drop everything, get in the car, get on the bus and see a movie. Then I can come back and get to work. I also pre-handle stress by staying organized and keeping a planner.
  • What do you like most about wherever you’re at right now (place or situational)?
    The people. The people I work with are serious gems. And due to the nature of our ministry, I’m always meeting new people who have a heart for what God is doing around the world, which is great.
  • I need to… find eleven bloggers to nominate!

My nominations:

BumblesBooks  – Books, books, books! What’s not to love?
Fiction All Day – All day!
Roses and Revolutionaries – Fighting (and writing) for freedom and justice
Miss Melissa Teaches – Little life lessons and baseball
Amos M. Carpenter – Just writing
Inkcouragement – A writer’s musings
The Rough Draft – One word at a time
thoughts & things – Fellow missionary Jesus girl
Laura Thinks Too Much – Fellow spitfire Jesus girl/linguist
Consuming Fire – Fellow Cedarville grad sassy Jesus girl/worship leader

My questions:

  • What three words would you NOT use to describe yourself?
  • What would thirteen-year-old you find surprising about your life right now?
  • If you could go back to school (for free!!), would you? What would you study?
  • In a movie of your life, who would portray you?
  • If you had to eat one meal every day for the rest of your life, what would it include?
  • If you had to play Never Have I Ever (a game where each player says something they’ve never done and everyone else who has done that thing loses a point) with three celebrities, who would they be?
  • What are your three favorite things about yourself?
  • What is your movie version of comfort food?
  • What’s the last thing you did that really scared you?
  • What’s the next thing you’ll do that really scares you?
  • What’s your dream job?
2 thoughts on “I won!

  1. I knew I read your blog for a reason. Suzanne! JK Rolling.. spot on! I’ve been telling my husband after visiting my family we need to go to Florida so I can go on the Wizarding World of HP. haha And don’t worry. There will never be too many YA novels out there.

    Enjoyed reading your answers immensely! And I know about the accomplishments in Spanish.. English isn’t my first language, and almost every day I give myself a small pat in the back for surviving 24hs of non stop English lol

    1. I’ve been to the Wizarding World twice and it is AMAZING. They’ve upgraded, too!! Now there’s even more magic to enjoy!

      You should get a HUGE pat on your back! Living life in your second language is exhausting!

Leave a Reply

