Check this out!

This week we’re starting to wrap things up! (Only 8 more days of school!) Fortunately, “wrapping things up” means a lot of shared meals! Two weeks from today I’ll be in Brooklyn!

Image
Yesterday was my last day tutoring this cool guy! He has progressed in leaps and bounds this school year academically and socially. He’s actually gotten pretty sassy and I am totally okay taking credit for that. To celebrate our last tutoring time we ate Doritos, watched Dirty Jobs, and played Farkle (he beat me soundly).

Articles worth checking out:

The Best Burger in Every State at Business Insider – I just think this might come in handy.

In which I am carrying on their legacies :: a guest post by Dusty Counts at Sarah Bessey – “There is an old saying in the south, ‘The apple doesn’t fall very far from the tree.’ This means we are more like our parents than we realize. I believe the spirit of my mom and grandmother are living on. That spirit is a part of me.” 

Chasing a Dream in the Midst and in the Afters by Sarah Bessey at SheLoves Magazine – “The white flame that had existed in my heart, setting me apart as a writer and an artist, had disappeared. I would never be a real writer. So I just began to write anyway.”

The Good Missionary at Christianity Today – “If there is one thing I could tell short-term missionaries, it would be this: focus less on ‘helping,’ and more on cross-cultural exchange, and becoming friends… Ask, ask, and ask again.”

Blogger Trips Make (Dollars &) Sense. by Jamie the Very Worst Missionary – I don’t know about you, but I want to support organizations who make good choices, who leverage every dollar, who choose low overhead and minimal cost marketing over glossy mass mailings and commercial advertisement, and that’s exactly what blogger trips aim to do.

Why Christians Hate “Religion” and Why We Yell Pharisee Too Quickly by J.S. Park – “God has wired each of us differently.  Some Christians will drink a beer and smoke cigars and get tattoos and pray in the woods by the river with a handmade journal and Lecrae and Mumford and Sons and Nirvana in their iPod — because this is how they meet Jesus.  God has a limitless imagination to speak to each of us in a wild variety of ways. To limit this is to limit God, and I don’t ever want to suckerpunch His sovereignty.”

Summer Books Preview 2014 at Los Angeles Times – “In our 2014 summer books preview, we highlight 143 books to enjoy over the next few months.” Booookkkssss.

14 #YesAllWomen Tweets That Everyone Needs To See at Thought Catalog – “Not ALL men harass women. But ALL women have, at some point, been harassed by men. Food for thought.”

My most read:

Here’s the thing about love“This year, these months, today, I have received God’s great love. I have soaked it up and down into my toes and up through my chest and sang it out my mouth. I’m living in it, alive because of it… It doesn’t make sense, but I get it. I get it. And because I get it, I can give it.”

Nice YouTube videos:

Nike: “Voices” by NikeWomen – “Someone’s gotta be the best. Why not me?”

The Renewed Mind Is the Key by Trenton McDowell – This video was number one on the Best/Worst Christian Videos List. And with good reason. So good. So bad.

Jesus Is My Friend by Sonseed by LostEpiphany29 – Also on the List. Better than the first.

Words to live by:

Image

I’ve come to learn that if you want something you’ve never had, you have to be willing to do things you’ve never done. – Rick Gebauer

Leave a Reply

