Here’s the thing about being a weirdo

A week or so ago Kristin and I were talking about how much we love Catching Fire the movie and how we just couldn’t wait for Mockingjay the movie (part 1? – ugh) to come out. I said something like, “I watched Catching Fire and now I want to read Mockingjay again!” Kristin said something like, “I know! I think I’m going to read it again this weekend.”

Melissa sat on the couch sticking pesos to her face and said something like, “You guys are weird.”

The girl literally had coins stuck to her face. And we’re weird for rereading books. *Unsuccessful eye roll* (I’m really bad at rolling my eyes.)

ImageI myself frequently reread books I particularly enjoy. And I’m proud of it! For a time in middle school I was never without Michael Ende’s The Neverending Story. My copy was pretty torn up and I felt pretty cool about it. For the record, I reread The Neverending Story for my book challenge and while the first half was super familiar, I did not remember the second half quite so well, which leads me to believe that all that time I was carrying around The Neverending Story I was really just reading the parts I liked over and over.

Another phase I went through was Nicholas Sparks’ A Walk to Remember. In my opinion that is the only one of Sparks’ books worth reading. My copy is highlighted and underlined and dog-eared. And currently in a box in my closet at my parents’ house. (International living, right? I’m over Kindle reading. I miss my personal copies!)

Some books are begging to be reread because of their complexity and thought-provoking-ness. (Obviously these aren’t the kinds of books I read very often.) I think I read Dan Brown’s Angels and Demons twice for this reason – because the first time I wasn’t 100% what was going on but I was sure that I wanted to know. I tend to read pretty quickly, which means I can miss things – I often have to reread sentences or paragraphs out loud to get my bearings – and sometimes that calls for a complete (and slower) reread.

Some books are just like coming home. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle, for instance, just makes me feel so cozy and happy and warm and understood. Those fuzzy feelings are due in part to my lifelong friend Carolyn, who told me about the wonder that is Madeleine L’Engle oh so many years ago. I think of her whenever I wrinkle time. Those fuzzy feelings are also due in part to one of the coolest people I’ve ever met (the same woman who read A Walk to Remember to a group of middle school girls during church camp), who keeps A Wrinkle in Time in her car – just in case.

JK Rowling said that I am always welcome at Hogwarts and I take advantage of her open invitation frequently. In Rowling’s original quote, she mentions only books and films but as of late I have been heading over to Hogwarts by way of the audio books which are awesome. Despite their simply being the books read aloud by the talented Jim Dale, the Harry Potter audio books are darn entertaining – much more entertaining than the movies in my humble opinion. (I say humble opinion, but I know more about Harry Potter than most people and let’s be honest, I’m not humble about it.) I like being able to listen in on any situation over the series whenever I want. “I think I’d like to hear about the time when Harry, Ron, and Hermione went into the Hogwarts’ kitchen,” I’ll say to my cat, and then BOOM. Jim Dale’s delightful British self is telling me all about it!

What I’m saying is, I’m a big fan of rereading books. Well written ones will teach you something new every time! Right now I’m reading Little Women by Louisa May Alcott for at least the third time and I’m still underlining and quote-copying my head off! Also, as I start on the long journey of writing my own book(s), I find myself rereading books I enjoy for different reasons – not just for pleasure, but for educational purposes. That Louisa May Alcott is a superstar at setting the scene!

//

Are there any books you can (and do) read over and over? What’s your go-to comfort read?

5 Replies to “Here’s the thing about being a weirdo”

  1. My favorite books to read, re-read, and comfort read are Robin Hobb’s Fitz & the Fool series. All 13 of the books that belong to that particular world.

  2. “Some books are just like coming home.” Exactly. I don’t reread very often any more (I see this as the #1 downside of blogging about what I read – no repeats!), but there are books that are just too good to only read once. Going back to childhood favorites is a particularly special experience. I want to read through the list you’re doing after I finish the Modern Library list!

    Also, Kevin and I are currently doing the Jim Dale Harry Potter audio books (he’s never read them!!!!!!) and loving them. How did I not know about the amazing Jim Dale before this? I have never heard such a talented voice actor doing audio books before. We need more people like this bringing books to life!

    1. I agree (about Jim Dale)! I never felt positively about audio books until listening to Jim Dale read Harry Potter, but audio books (at least those ones) are so fun!

      I just love lists! Reading these children’s books has been so, so fun. I feel like I’m constantly feeding my imagination!

Leave a Reply

