Check this out!

My roommate Melissa and I moved to a new apartment this week! I say “we” moved but I did very little of the actual moving. All of our awesome, strong, truck-owning friends showed up and got the job done so quickly and so efficiently yesterday afternoon that we are already over half-way unpacked! The move came with perfect timing – today starts a three day weekend!

Image
Getting it done.

Articles worth checking out:

The “Other” Side by Mike Rowe – “Is our country so divided that my mere proximity to the “other side” prompts otherwise sensible adults to scoop up their marbles and go home?”

When The Joy Runs Out (by Micha Boyett) at Rachel Held Evans – “I think how much of my life I spent scrubbing myself with ceremonial water, refilling the jars, begging God to make my life holy enough. And all along, the containers weren’t empty at all. Wine was ready for the taking.”

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar: Welcome to the Finger-Wagging Olympics at Time – Moral outrage is exhausting. And dangerous. The whole country has gotten a severe case of carpal tunnel syndrome from the newest popular sport of Extreme Finger Wagging.”

A Man Asks Mike Rowe For Life Advice. He Destroys His “Dream” In The Best Way Possible. at Distractify – “Many people today resent the suggestion that they’re in charge of the way the feel. But trust me… those people are mistaken. That was a big lesson from Dirty Jobs, and I learned it several hundred times before it stuck. What you do, who you’re with, and how you feel about the world around you, is completely up to you.”

My most read post:

Here’s the thing about beta readers – “The thing is, I am an awful judge of my own writing. I cannot tell what is good and what isn’t especially when it comes to fiction. Apparently I have no idea what people are interested in.”

Song of the week:

Image
Speak Low If You Speak Love is doing 90s covers (great idea, right?!) and this week one of said covers was David Archuleta’s Crush. So good! Click on the picture to give it (and SLIYSL’s other 90s jams) a listen!

Words to live by:

“Watch and pray, dear; never get tired of trying; and never think it is impossible to conquer your faults.” – Mrs. March, Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Leave a Reply

