Here’s the thing about Target on Tumblr

So apparently the new organization to hate because of their portrayal of same sex couples in their ads is Target. I hadn’t heard about this latest one until I saw the following on Tumblr:

Image

 

Well, a brave transgender Tumblr man shared a story about his personal experience with Target as an employee that made me like Target even more than I already do (which, like most 20-something ladies is a crap load) and so I reblogged the post (including the picture above and the man’s story) and scrolled on. But then I scrolled back up and hit reblog again because I had some sharing of my own to do.

The thing is, I’m just honestly baffled by boycotting an organization because they acknowledge the reality of same sex couples who are going to be registering for their wedding (if nothing else it’s more money in Target’s pocket – should we expect them not to be business minded?) in the name of God. Like, remember the bracelets? This doesn’t seem like something Jesus would do. Not the Jesus who washed Judas’ feet hours before Judas sold him out. Not the Jesus who didn’t stone the adulteress. Not the Jesus who turns the Valley of Achor into a Door of Hope.

I felt like I had to stand up for Jesus. Not because Jesus needs my help – Trying to prove God is like trying to defend a lion – but because He has asked for it. (Mark 16:15)

So I proclaimed.

(I will preface all of this by saying that I am a Jesus follower. A Baptist missionary, even.)

Okay here’s the thing.

People in the LGBT community are people. They exist. They’re living life and they’re working their jobs and they’re planning their weddings and they’re watching TV and they’re raising their kids and they’re shopping at Target and they’re walking around out there. Being people. Making life decisions. Some of those life decisions you may not personally agree with.

Hetero and cisgender people are people. They exist. They’re living life and they’re working their jobs and they’re planning their weddings and they’re watching TV and they’re raising their kids and they’re shopping at Target and they’re walking around out there. Being people. Making life decisions. Some of those life decisions you may not personally agree with.

What’s the difference? Why should a stranger’s life decision be any of your business in the first place? Surely you’re not concerned out of love?

God said one man and one woman, yes. God also said that divorce, except in the case of sexual immorality, is sin. You wanna talk about the divorce rate in America?

You know what God also said? Like, a lot more than He said anything else? What He said was the second greatest commandment? What He said would set us apart as His? Love people. No qualifiers.

Love people. Even the mean ones. Even the back stabbers. Even the foreigners. Especially the foreigners, in fact. Even the people who don’t believe the same things as you. Even the people who reject you. Even the people who murder you. Even “the gays.”* Love people. Period.

“I’m uncomfortable” doesn’t mean “you should be punished because I’m uncomfortable.” “I’m in the majority” doesn’t mean “my way is the only acceptable way.”

If you are uncomfortable being around a same sex couple or a transgender person or a Muslim or an African American or someone who doesn’t speak English, then may I suggest another planet? Because we’re all people here and we have got to figure out how to live together without boycotting each other all the time.

And please, please, please, if you are going to be a big a-hole, especially on the internet, please don’t blame the Lord. Keep reading His Book – the list of rules in the front isn’t the point.

*”the gays” not being a phrase I usually use.

So that’s the thing. Or at least my part of the thing.

I don’t have all the answers, just my experience and little pieces of the Truth.

//

Footnote:

For more on Target’s ad and what it all means click here, here, or here.

For a list of 2 verses about marriage being between one man and one woman, click here.

For a list of 47 verses about loving people, click here.

The fact that Jesus talked about one thing less than another thing doesn’t make it less true, but the fact He talked about one thing so much more than other things does say something about what’s most important to Him.

6 Replies to “Here’s the thing about Target on Tumblr”

  1. I had not heard about this but I’m glad you shared. Love your thoughts on this AND have loved doing a little blog stalking of my own over here on your space. Thanks for saying hello the other day and for all your kind and funny comments!

  2. This is awesome. I’m glad you’re speaking out, because what you are saying is so true. We HAVE to stop demonizing PEOPLE. We have to go beyond “hate the sin, love the sinner” now. I didn’t really change my thoughts on things until I actually became friends with a few gay people (not just acquaintances that I knew were gay, but to the point that these friends opened up to me). Their stories are heartbreaking. My big thing right now is stop shouting “Truth” at everyone and start just trying to Love. So I love this post!!!

    And honestly, probably almost every corporation we buy goods or services from in some way “supports” something that we don’t believe in. We’ve got to get away from this “boycotting” thing. I have lived for so long in this dichotomous world where there’s the church/Christian world and the there’s THE WORLD (BAD!!! WARNING! ALERT!) you know? I’m searching for a different way. I think God can be found everywhere, even in people and things that are not “Christian.” Henri Nouwen said, “The spiritual life does not remove us from the world but leads us deeper into it.” I am trying to find what that means.

    1. ” I think God can be found everywhere, even in people and things that are not “Christian.”” Yes, yes. Me too. I always say that you don’t have to agree with everything a person says or does to learn from them.

      And seriously. Have you ever heard anyone say, “I came to Christ because some Christian some where made a big stink about a commercial”? Because I haven’t. But yesterday I heard about a woman who came to Christ because people cared about her, asked her about her day and her family and were concerned about her. They didn’t preach at her, not even once! They just loved her. That’s the good stuff.

Leave a Reply

