Vengo ante Tus pies


Your grace is enough, more than I need. At Your word I will believe. I wait for You, draw near again, let Your Spirit make me new. And I will fall at Your feet. I will fall at Your feet and I will worship You here. Your presence in me, Jesus light the way by the power of Your word. I am restored, I am redeemed, by Your Spirit I am free.

Freely You gave it all for us, surrendered Your life upon that cross. Great is the love poured out for all. This is our God. Lifted on high from death to life, forever our God is glorified. Servant and King rescued the world. This is our God.

***

Tu amor inudó mi corazón. Creo en tu Palabra oh Dios. Espero en Ti, renuévame con tu Espíritu Jesús. Y vengo ante Tus pies. Vengo ante Tus pies. Rendido Te adoraré. Tu presencia en mí guía mi andar. Tu Palabra es la verdad. Restauración y redención encontré en Ti Señor.

Todo lo diste Tú por mí. Tu vida entregaste al morir. Cuan grande amor Él derramó. Es nuestro Dios. Sobre la muerte Él venció. Digno de honor y adoración, Siervo y Rey, El salvador, Es nuestro Dios.

***

You know how sometimes we sing songs from our perspective, but sometimes we sing them from God’s point of view? Well, yesterday I got a vision of what this song would look like if Jesus were singing it to me.

Vengo ante Tus pies – I come before God’s feet because I have nowhere else to go. I come before God’s feet because it is there I find restauración y redención. I come before God’s feet, humbly on my face, asking for forgiveness, confessing the worst of me. I come before God’s feet because I can and I can because of grace and the power of the cross.

Todo lo diste Tú por mí On the cross, Jesus gave everything up for me. He gave up His life and His communion with a Holy God who couldn’t bear to be in relationship with sin. But He didn’t stay down. He didn’t stay separate. Gloria a Dios, up from the grave He arose with a mighty triumph over His foes. Jesus rose from the dead, beat death, tore the curtain, paid my debt, and made it possible for the worst of me to come before the feet of a Holy and Just God.

Truly, God is digno de honor y adoración.

One of the last lines of this song has always stuck out to me. Siervo y Rey. Servant and King. Humbled and Exalted. Poor and Creator of Everything. Siervo y Rey. Such a paradox, but that’s just who Jesus was – Servant and King. Yesterday when I sang those two words an image popped into my head. A Holy, Kingly, Exalted, Living God kneeling before my feet. But not to give me praise or adoration. Not to ask for my forgiveness. But to wash me.

Vengo ante tus pies.

ImageJust before the Passover Feast, Jesus knew that the time had come to leave this world to go to the Father. Having loved his dear companions, he continued to love them right to the end. It was suppertime. The Devil by now had Judas, son of Simon the Iscariot, firmly in his grip, all set for the betrayal. Jesus knew that the Father had put him in complete charge of everything, that he came from God and was on his way back to God. So he got up from the supper table, set aside his robe, and put on an apron. Then he poured water into a basin and began to wash the feet of the disciples, drying them with his apron… After he had finished washing their feet, he took his robe, put it back on, and went back to his place at the table. Then he said, “Do you understand what I have done to you? You address me as ‘Teacher’ and ‘Master,’ and rightly so. That is what I am. So if I, the Master and Teacher, washed your feet, you must now wash each other’s feet. I’ve laid down a pattern for you. What I’ve done, you do. I’m only pointing out the obvious. A servant is not ranked above his master; an employee doesn’t give orders to the employer. If you understand what I’m telling you, act like it—and live a blessed life. – John 13:1-6, 12:17 (The Message)

The image of a Holy Jesus, kneeling before my feet.

Siervo y Rey, El salvador, Es nuestro Dios. This is our God.

Leave a Reply

