Check this out!

This week we had a group visiting the ministry, which means I got to sit in the back of a few of my classes instead of teaching them. It also means I gave my first historical tour of the capital yesterday!! Did you know that the oldest church in the Americas is located in Santo Domingo?! Because I did.

Image
After a long Friday, this mug is totes apropes today.

Articles/blog posts:

  • This Father’s Illustrations Of Things He’s Said To His Children Are Splendid at BuzzFeed – Oh, parenting.
  • Fat Girls in Bikinis… We’re Just Like You at Brittany, Herself – Brittany looks amazing in a bikini and even though I have no desire to wear a bikini, seeing how amazing she looks makes me feel better about how I look in anything. Cool how that works, huh?
  • In Which Jesus Offers Financial Independence That No One Wants :: a guest post by Ed Cyzewski at Sarah Bessey – Ed talks about the story of the rich young ruler (Matthew 19:16-26). “We shouldn’t approach this story asking ‘how much am I allowed to own?’ That misses the point. We should approach this story asking, ‘What would keep me from following Jesus?’ This is a story about finding freedom from the control of money and possessions, not about living in condemnation because of what we own.”
  • The Gratitude Experiment at Momastery – I’m super late on the whole Lent thing (Ash Wednesday was March 5) but Glennon offers a really great explanation of the Lent season. “I think of Lent as a purging of what we don’t need in order to create space to receive bigger and better things- like peace and love and joy. It’s like putting down your phone so you can hold somebody’s hand. It’s like emptying your bedroom of clutter so you can really see that beautiful antique bed your mama passed down to you. It’s like that. Lent Is A Spiritual Spring Cleaning.”
  • House for All Sinners and Saints’ 40 Ideas for Keeping a Holy Lent by Nadia Bolz Weber at patheos – Again, a little late, but it’s never too late to start being more holy!
  • Cigarettes, Multiple Wives, and Loving Jesus at a life overseas – When our culture (in our minds, hearts, and lives) trumps our Living Word Jesus. Be careful.
  • 7 Things I Wish I Knew About Christianity Before Becoming A Christian at Relevant – This could also be entitled 7 Things Christians Should Keep in Mind When Trying to Sell Christianity to Others. 
  • Why Does the Child in the Hands of the Beggar Always Sleeping? at Buddhist Broadcasting Network – A heart-wrenching truth uncovered about what people will do to survive. Desperate people do desperate things. (If you’d like to read more about engaging the homeless/panhandling population, check out what I wrote here.)
  • Americans use the internet to abandon children adopted from overseas at Reuters Investigates – I watched an epiode of Criminal Minds where a woman staged a kidnapping of her niece. What she really did was “re-home” her. I wanted to know if the practice of “re-homing” or “non-legalized adoption” was real. Hoping it was some awful practice Criminal Minds made up, I went to Google. I found this article. What can we do about this? 
  • How to Declutter in 5 Simple Steps at 5 Kids Is A Lot Of Kids – During this Lent season Beth is working on 15 minute projects each day (that she can). Here are her decluttering tips that help her get the job done.

Movies/TV:

  • The Tale of Despereaux on Megashare – I read this book as part of my Challenge and although the movie was pretty different from the book, it more or less kept the same spirit. It was cute. I enjoyed it.
  • Criminal Minds Season 9 on Megashare – I’m all caught up now!
  • Will and Grace Seasons 4-5 on DVD – Will and Grace are like comfort food for me.

(YouTube) Videos:

General good finds:

  • Trips for Every Traveler on Leave Your Daily Hell. This guy is a world traveler! Here he shares some tips and even itineraries! So handy!
  • Ban Bossy. “When a little boy asserts himself, he’s called a ‘leader.’ Yet when a little girl does the same, she risks being branded ‘bossy.’ Words like bossy send a message: don’t raise your hand or speak up. By middle school, girls are less interested in leading than boys—a trend that continues into adulthood. Together we can encourage girls to lead.”
  • “The question isn’t who is going to let me; it’s who is going to stop me.” – A.Rand
8de9e2798abfe10ba278326ef34fb228
What a hip, happening bulletin board!

033e59dcac92d2003a65f5aee775d33f

68485_10151218488357240_148077313_n
HAH!
998286_10152321898581098_1631449381_n
Makes sense.
1907556_651949324841384_504870266_n
facebook.com/amightygirl

1975242_10152251392044710_452578909_n

sdgv
“I don’t mean to preach, but Jesus Christ helped me kick my crack cocaine habit, then blessed me with a window cleaning business.”
— facebook.com/humansofnewyork

Leave a Reply

