Here’s the thing about being me

Here's the thing about me
I’ve been really into making photo collages lately. Here’s one containing pictures of myself, my squashy gut, my wide hips, and my hand on my hip. Working it.

I look in the mirror and I try to think about how I might be happier if this part of me didn’t stick out so much or if this part were smoother. I hold up my hand to hide my “double” chin and take my hand down again and I just can’t see a difference that matters. The truth is, I’m pretty okay with what I see when I look in the mirror. Especially on days when my hair looks as good as it does today. (It looks pretty good.)

There are two truths that greatly affect how I feel about my body: First, this is what I look like. Plain and simple. Even in the least-flattering pictures, this is how my body really is. Second, there are a lot of people in my life that I like and respect and learn from and laugh with that genuinely like me, with little to no regard for my double chin or my squashy gut. And with those thoughts in mind, I can look at a picture or a mirror and with contentment say, “Yep, that’s me!”

Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body. – 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

5 thoughts on “Here’s the thing about being me

  1. I enjoyed reading your post. As a girl–Yes I am a girl, that guy is a favorite actor of mine and not my real picture–I also try to smooth out what I se as my imperfection. Truth is, I flip flop on my happiness with how I look. But When I focus on Jesus and see the bigger picture, I don’t notice the extra pound on me 🙂 Because its really not important.
    But being a woman, and being concerned with how others perceive me clouds my happiness. The truth is, it really doesn’t matter. Thanks for this post, gives me something to think about.

    By the way, if its not too invasive, how did you get involved in missionary?

    1. Thanks for sharing! I will confess that there are some days and some pictures of myself that make me think, “Ugh if I could just get rid of this or that,” but I know more than anybody that I’m not willing to put in the work that would yield those kinds of results. I am in charge of my body and what goes into it, and I have chosen food over being smaller.

      Definitely not too invasive! I would encourage you to check out the About Me page on my blog, because it does have a bit of my story there. I asked Jesus into my heart when I was 7 because I wanted to get into heaven. Through middle school youth group I realized that being a Christian is more about getting into heaven and not cussing. I went on my first mission trip when I was 11 to Mexico and I knew from that week on that this was the kind of thing God had for me. What I was going to do with my life was never a question – I wanted to teach Spanish speakers.

      During the missions conference (I went to a Christian university) my last year of college all of the different missionaries who had come to share about their ministries and what God was doing and what needs they had had set up their booths in the chapel building. I went around to every organization that was in a Spanish speaking country (Spanish was one of my minros!) and asked if they needed teachers. At the Daystar table (Daystar is the missions organization that Las Palmas – the school where I teach – is under), I ran into my friend Diana. She had done an internship in the Dominican Republic and told me all about the ministry – the emphasis on Dominican/American partnerships, empowering Dominicans, and the school. I applied and was offered a job! I knew right away it was where God was sending me.

      After moving to the Dominican Republic I realized I had been a missionary for years – in my high school, in the city where I worked during college, and everywhere I had worked or lived. As my missions professor in college used to say, “You don’t have to cross salt water to be a missionary!”

      What is your relationship with missions? Do you have any experience/interest?

      1. Suzanne,
        It is awesome reading about your journey with Christ. Unfortunately I am not sure where I am being led as yet. I know that He does have a plan for me and that going back home, which I am doing soon, is my next step.
        I am interested in missionary work, but like you professor told you; I also don’t think its all about going to a new country–though that would be awesome. I just loved how you always had a hold of what He was leading you to do, and that it seems like its been just a matter of one step to the other. I do know that I am a helper. If I can help someone get set up for something, even with a little thing, I enjoy that.

Leave a Reply

