Check this out!

We started this week off with a Missions Conference led by an amazing speaker/missionary from Spain/Mexico. (He’s a Mexican missionary to Spain.) This week my tutoring finally started back up and I’ve been loving the cooler weather. It’s no eight below (I see you, Michigan) but I actually wore pants and long sleeves at the same time outside this week, so it’s been good. This week I also celebrated (albeit from far away) the birth of my new favorite infant – my friend Erin’s (second) baby boy, Lincoln. 

Image
My students and I had a fun and creative week!

Articles/blog posts:

  • I Wish This Guy Was My Neighbor… He’s Hilarious at Quick Meme – Haha.
  • School ditches rules and loses bullies at One News – A school in New Zealand threw out their playground rules and saw great results. Those interviewed for the article discuss how we are not doing our kids any favors in over-protecting them. “Children develop the frontal lobe of their brain when taking risks, meaning they work out consequences. ‘You can’t teach them that. They have to learn risk on their own terms. It doesn’t develop by watching TV, they have to get out there.'”
  • Detroit Symphony Orchestra Awesomely Flash Mobs Ikea Canton at Hell Yeah Detroit! – This is my Ikea! And what a gorgeous display, DSO!
  • 16 Major Advantages Of Being A Book Lover at Huff Post Books – It’s true, being a book lover is pretty great.
  • If I Can’t Accept You at Your Worst, Then Maybe You Should Stop Being Horrible at Huffington Post – Would it be a Check this out! without Matt Walsh? Probably not. He can be a little harsh, but he’s stinking to his guns, which I admire. Also, I’d never really thought about this popular saying (“If he can’t accept me at my worst, he doesn’t deserve me at my best!”), but Walsh makes some darn good points. Like this one: “…being “accepted” should not be our relationship goal. Healthy relationships are loving, but also challenging, edifying, and even occasionally painful.”
  • 6-Day Visit To Rural African Village Completely Changes Woman’s Facebook Profile Picture at The Onion – Classic.
  • Date a Boy Who Travels at Here I Go Again On My Own – I first saw the Don’t Date A Girl Who Travels blog post, but I like positive commands more than negative ones. I also didn’t like how much time I spent wondering whether or not I was considered a girl who travels and what affect that has on my dateability. I’d much rather think about dating a man like this: “Date a man who’s lived out of a backpack because he lives happily with less. A man who’s travelled has seen poverty and dined with those who live in small shanty’s with no running water, and yet welcome strangers with greater hospitality than the rich. And because he’s seen this, he’s seen how a life without luxury can mean a life fueled by relationships and family, rather than a life that fuels fancy cars and ego.”
  • You’ll Never See This Side of the Superbowl on TV at PolicyMic – READ THIS READ THIS SHARE THIS SHARE THIS! I am so so glad that this is one of three articles I saw on my Facebook newsfeed this week about the insane amount of human trafficking that takes place each year at the Superbowl. We, as humans, have to do something about this.

Movies/TV:

  • Catching Fire on Megashare – I saw this movie in theaters and obviously loved it. I was so excited when it finally came to Megashare and I could watch it with Melissa, who hadn’t seen it yet. Having read the book a few times and now having watched the movie twice, I’m a bit confused as to why I enjoy putting myself through that kind of emotional trauma, but I’m also thinking about watching the movie again today. I think it might have something to do with my huge crush on Peeta.
  • New Girl Season 3 on Hulu – I’ve been keeping up with New Girl this season and also rewatching old episodes because Schmidt. I hate Coach a little less after this latest episode (which is really like, three episodes ago at this point because I’m not paying for Hulu+) because he’s a Pistons man! Deeeetroit basketbaaall!

(YouTube) Videos:

General good finds:

  • “‘If I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but do not have love, I have become a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal.’ ~ the Bible // Crazy, right?! But, honestly, if you sound like kind of a d*ck when you ‘tell the truth in love’, people can’t hear what you want them to hear. They can only hear d*ck.” – Jamie, The Very Worst Missionary
  • “Charles Spurgeon was relentlessly attacked by a particular church member about his style of evangelizing. After enduring an ongoing, seemingly endless stream of biting criticisms from this person, Spurgeon finally said to him, ‘You know, I don’t particularly like the way I share the gospel either. Tell me, how do you do it?’ Surprised, the man sputtered and stuttered, finally admitting that he, in fact, did not share the gospel. ‘Well,’ Spurgeon responded, ‘I like my way better than your way.’”

I stumbled upon something… something wonderful…

Image
guess what i have

ImageAlso these:

Image
Check, check, and check.
Image
“I had a doughnut.” Timeline worthy.
Image
This girl’s got her head in the right place.
Image
No letter to the tooth fairy is complete without a hashtag.

In unrelated news…

Image

Image

Image

Song of the week: Slow It Down by The Lumineers. I’m loving this song every time it comes up on my Pandora playlist. Gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

