Check this out!

My birthday week! Hazah! I’m 24 years old now! And I still love the internet.

Image
Memories.

Articles/blog posts:

  • 16 People On Things They Couldn’t Believe About America Until They Moved Here at Thought Catalog – First of all, move over BuzzFeed because I have discovered the lists of Thought Catalog. Second of all, this list is super interesting. My Dominican friends here are so surprised I know how to drive. Also, the more I travel, the more I realize how seriously lacking the US is in decent public transportation. Which is why we all know how to drive. But here in my city in the DR sometimes not having a car is more convenient than having a car would be.
  • In which there’s a new way forward at Sarah Bessey – “We’re in a time when I believe that the voice of God’s people is desperately needed: we need to see a glimpse of what life looks like the way that Christ intended it at creation. What are living our lives into? We need to engage in the issues of justice in our world, and in our churches. I don’t want to stick my fingers in my ears and pretend that just because I personally don’t want to preach and I personally don’t want to lead and I am not regularly oppressed that it isn’t happening elsewhere.”
  • Being Gay at Jerry Falwell’s University at The Atlantic – Just in case you missed this post“Eventually, though, I decided that if Jesus met me some time, and if he got to know me, and hear my ideas, and listen to me laugh, then he would like me. What made me come to that conclusion? Meeting people like Dr. Prior and Dr. Reeves. All these people—including Jerry Falwell—helped teach me about Jesus, and I figured that if they liked me, then maybe Jesus might, too.”
  • The Hardest Job Everyone Thinks They Can Do at Musings on Life and Love – “Teaching is the toughest job everyone who’s never done it thinks they can do.” Sometimes I need to remind myself that what I’m doing is tough, and I need to cut myself some slack for not being perfect at it.
  • You Know You Are From Michigan If… at The Mitten State – I am a proud Michigander. Lists like these make me feel like I’m a part of an exclusive club of people who drink pop and play euchre. Growing up I didn’t realize that not everyone in the world knows when/what “opening day” is or drank Faygo. I would talk to my college friends about going “up north” and they would just look at me confused. Now I feel like other Michigan-folk and I have a secret language and I love it. It’s comradery and family and home. Great lakes, great times!
  • Lawsuit Paid In Full: Samsung pays Apple $1 Billion sending 30 trucks full of 5 cent coins at The Blade Brown Show – There’s really no reason to click through to the link because the title says it all. I have no idea what this lawsuit was about, but I am curious as to where Samsung got all of those nickels!
  • Soldiers wrote paragraphs about why they joined the army. Here’s the best one… at quickmeme – I’d say that’s a great reason to be a soldier.
  • For The Last Time, Only Rapists Are Responsible For Rape at xoJane – “What is the “common theme” in sexual assaults on campus and elsewhere? Rapists. Which means that rape prevention needs to start by targeting rapists, not their victims, and the media should be focusing on people who rape, not people who are raped.”
  • Former Lesbian Jackie Hill Responds To Macklemore’s ‘Same Love’ at Wade-O Radio – “Those who defend homosexuality, such as Macklemore, argue that homosexual orientation is a predisposition. Even so, Hill stresses that predisposed homosexual desires aren’t an excuse to follow through with those desires. “If God chooses not to change my desires, he has promised to give me his Holy Spirit that will help me flee from them,” she said. “There are people who were alcoholics for 20 years, went through rehab and they don’t drink anymore, but sometimes they may be tested. If they see a bottle of whiskey, they’re going to want that whisky, but they have a choice.” Hill believes that everyone has the ability to submit to their desires—whether a homosexual, idolater, adulterer, thief, drunkard, slanderer or swindler—or repent and surrender their lives to Jesus Christ.”
  • 30 Random Surprising Facts at I Waste So Much Time – That Bolivian prison is just like the Panamanian prison on Prison Break!
  • 33 Ridiculously Hilarious Schmidt Quotes That Will Brighten Your Day at Thought Catalog – I just love a good Schmidt quote.

Movies/TV:

  • The Croods at Family Movie Night – Last Friday Las Palmas Preschool had a Family Night. We watched The Croods and the teachers served the students and their families popcorn and pop. It was a really nice time and an adorable movie. Since I was carrying large trays full of cups of pop (AMAZED that I didn’t spill any on anybody) I’d like to watch the movie again sometimes. It’s about a cave-family (you know, a caveman and his cave-family) who has to leave their home (I’m not sure why because of all of the concentrating-on-not-spilling) and they meet this guy named Guy (or “Tipo”) who teaches them new ways about the world. I loved it in Spanish so I’m sure I’d love it even more in English.
  • Arthur and the Invisibles on Netflix – Sometimes I just get in “Just For Kids” moods. This movie was weird though and I didn’t finish it. I’m pretty sure the romance of the film is between a ten year old boy and a hundred year old girl with fully developed breasts, though. Weird.
  • Glee Season 3 on Netflix – I’ve been keeping up with Season 5, but after watching one episode a week I always want more. I was, however, a little bored with this week’s episode. Blaine Anderson can keep finding reasons to get behind a piano though, I’ll tell you what.

Music:

  • Les Miserables Movie Soundtrack on YouTube – Always. Last year after seeing the movie I downloaded Spotify just so I could listen to the Les Mis soundtrack non-stop. Then I came back to the DR and my two-weeks traveler’s grace period ended so I had to find this YouTube video version, which works just as well.
  • Red by Taylor Swift on CD – At the end of the summer YouthWorks Mid-States get together, someone (no doubt cleaning out their vehicles) said, “Does anybody wants this Taylor Swift CD?” Um, yes, of course I do. And yes of course I’d like to listen to it one hundred million times, only pausing occasionally to sing On My Own at the top of my lungs and cry as Eponine sings about how the rain makes the flowers grow.

(YouTube) Videos:

  • Pack a Shoebox with Uncle Si at Samaritan’s Purse – When they’re not drinking wine or hunting ducks, they’re packing shoeboxes full of goodies for kids around the world.
  • For My Brother on Down Syndrome Day By Ace by eicherumba on YouTube – Always a good one. Precious brother sister friends!
  • G.O.S.P.E.L. – Propaganda at I Waste So Much Time – I remember seeing this video a couple of years ago, but loved it just as much the second time around. “Love, atoms, and oceans – God.”
  • Justice and the Gospel – a spoken word by Propaganda on YouTube – “There is no them. Them is us. It’s you. It’s me. We. We’re the city. We’re the culture. We’re the problem.” After watching G.O.S.P.E.L., I decided to check out some more of Propaganda’s stuff and I liked this one even better than the first! I really enjoy spoken word. It reminds me of books that were written to be read out loud and inspiring people like Gypsee Yo.
  • Hashtags: #DadQuotes by Late Night with Jimmy Fallon on YouTube – I love these hashtag deals Jimmy does. If I tweeted, I would’ve tweeted about the time my brother and I found a to-do list my dad had written. It said, “mow the lawn, do the dishes, find remote.”
  • Ship My Pants by Kmart on YouTube – Still funny. The Joe Boxers one is, in my opinion, not funny and it makes me uncomfortable.

General good finds:

  • “When a church has a global vision the concern of who stays and who goes is swallowed up by the deep joy of the body ministering among other people.” – Pastor Gary Hale
  • “One of the most amazing things that can happen is finding someone who sees everything you are and won’t let you be anything less. They see the potential of you. They see endless possibilities. And through their eyes, you start to see yourself the same way. As someone who matters. As someone who can make a difference in this world.” – Susane Colasanti
  • “Success comes to those who do. Get up. Show up. Throw up if you have to. Do it afraid. But do it no matter.” – Toni Sorensen
  • “It’s an honor to be anybody’s anything.” – Ryan Scott Graham
Image
Amirite?
Image
Tis the season for A Christmas Story and leg lamps.
(Click the link to view the artist’s blog.)
Image
There’s a cat in my flat!

Image


Leave a Reply

