My first marathon

Today I am doing my first marathon. Not a running marathon, no, nothing so horrible. Today I embarked on a writing marathon.

Image

And also kind of an eating marathon.

Before November (and the novel writing challenged) started, I read that it could be beneficial to set smaller personal goals within the 50,000 words in a month goal. I set the personal goal of 20,000 by the end of this week (aka today). I knew it was a lofty goal, but I wanted to dream big. I also am planning on finishing the 50,000 words by Thanksgiving day, since the day after Thanksgiving I am going out of town until December 1 and do not want to take my computer.

I wouldn’t have thought that I would be in a shlump after only one full week of the NaNoWriMo challenge but in a shlump I was. I didn’t even look at my novel yesterday and on Thursday I wrote some shameful 200 words.

So when I read on the NaNoWriMo website that there was a marathon scheduled for today I knew I had to take part. I took a moto to a friends’ house (they’re out of town and my roommates and I have been weekend house-sitting) for a change of scenery and a decreased potential for distractions. What type of distractions was I hoping to avoid? Well, distractions like these:

  • Books to read.
  • Kittens to pet and play with.
  • Roommates to talk to.
  • Just Dance to play.
  • Fingernail polish to use.
  • A room to clean and/or rearrange.
  • Cookies to back.
  • Laundry to do.

You know, those type of fun/necessary activities that are so easily used as excuses not to write.

So, in my best attempt to avoid any distractions, I went to someone else’s house, where there is not a kitten or bottle of nail polish or hamper of laundry to wash in sight. I popped the first season of The Big Bang Theory into the DVD player (they have one of those – so fancy) and got myself a Dominoes pizza.

Then I wrote over 3,000 words! Not bad. Not exactly a marathon-level word count, but still respectable.

(For some reason, The Big Bang Theory is a huge motivator. I think it’s because I used to watch it A LOT while doing homework and writing papers and lesson plans in college. I would have Big Bang playing on one side of my laptop and my homework on the other side. And it still works! I wrote those 3,000 words in the time it took to watch one disc.)

For the first time since the beginning, I actually enjoyed writing my novel today. I went back and added a bunch of descriptions and dialogue to stuff I had written before the challenge and discovered I love writing for the point of view of a seven year old. Maybe next November I’ll write a novel about a second grader.

With enough Dominoes pizza, cold root beer, and early seasons of The Big Bang Theory, I can do anything!

One Reply to “My first marathon”

Leave a Reply

