Check this out!

Four day school week, ya’ll! It was great.

nano

Articles/blog posts:

  • The truly inspiring story of the Chinese rubbish collector who saved and raised THIRTY babies abandoned at the roadside at Mail Online – This story offers good insight into the affects of poverty and the one-child law in China. Everyone can do something. What can you do?
  • 24 Quotes That Will Inspire You To Write More at BuzzFeed – I needed these quotes as NaNoWriMo got into full swing this week. I should print them out and hang them around my room to keep me going!!
  • Dear daughter, you’re beautiful, regardless of what the media tells you at The Matt Walsh Blog – “But that’s the price of living in a culture of consumerism, where we spend every waking minute surrounded by advertisements and product placement. Everyone’s got something to sell, and very few of them are selling anything you need. So, to compensate, the peddlers pull out their shotguns and blow giant holes in your psyche. Then they convince you that they’ve got the perfect thing to plug the gaps. They try to create a void in your conscience, so they can start pouring their poison into it.”
  • Bolz-Weber’s liberal, foulmouthed articulation of Christianity speaks to fed-up believers at The Washington Post – I was bouncing around in my chair as I red this article. Preach, sister! “God doesn’t love you more if you do good things, or if you believe certain things. God, she argues, offers you grace regardless of who you are or what you do.”
  • Conquering the Impossible at YouthWorks Blog – Kristian Anderson tells the story of how his youth group conquered the impossible and how it taught them that with God nothing is impossible. Oh, and, I know these people! This is the church that YouthWorks partners with in Brooklyn. I lived at the church for the summer of 2012 and hung out with Krisitan, his wife, his cat, and his youth. Great things happening over there on 59th street. Also if you are looking for a super great hard challenging fun paid summer job, check out YouthWorks.
  • Foster the City: A Church Movement to Give Every Child a Home at Time U.S. – My favorite part of this movement is that even those who cannot (or should not – oh the wisdom!) take in foster children are getting involved in other ways. Everyone can do something.
  • The Real Reason I Still Go to Church at Five Kids Is A Lot Of Kids – She says things so well!

TV/Movies:

  • Jericho Season 1 on Netflix – This show is like that boring Rule of Three book that I read a while ago only better.
  • New Girl Season 3 on Hulu – Finally! Can’t get enough of this show.
  • Les Miserables on DVD – I am watching Les Mis as a type. This movie never gets old. (I know it’s less than a year old but I’ve watched it a lot and listened to the soundtrack even more.)

Music:

(YouTube) Videos:

  • Autobiography by gypsee yo – This awesome lady came to visit our women’s ministry last year. She is an incredible seamstress and taught the ladies at the safe house how to work the sewing machines. She is also an incredible poet and has won all kinds awards for her slam poetry. She is also a really wise and humble person. I’m honored to know her! She recently wrote and performed a one-woman show, Harabel.
  • The Hungry Games by Todrick Hall – Remember how I said I went Todrick Hall crazy? This video is one of the reasons why. He is a genius. The only thing wrong with this Hunger Games parody is that it is not long enough.
  • Best of Schmidt – New Girl || Season 2 by cooooourtney – Schmidt is my favorite New Girls guy. This is a nice Schmidt medley.
  • Best Things About Being Blind by TommyEdisonXP – Puts things into perspective a bit, eh?
  • The Born Friends Family Portrait – a unique friendship brought together by skype by skype – A precious story about best friends who met through the internet.

General good finds:

  • “There is no reason on this green earth not to try for glory… Write something true. Write something frightening. Write something close to the bone. You are on this planet to tell the story of what you saw here. What you heard. What you felt. What you learned. Any effort spent in that pursuit cannot be wasted. Any way that you can tell that story more truly, more vividly, more you-ly, is the right way.” – Catherynne M. Valente
  • “Christianity is one beggar telling another beggar where he found bread.” – D.T. Niles
  • “The Christian shoemaker does his Christian duty not by putting tiny crosses on shows, but by making good shoes, because God is interested in good craftsmanship.” – Martin Luther
  • “To ponder: ‘If you had to defend yourself to a jury of a crime you did not do, what race would you pick to be?’ (Mosaix Multi-ethnic Conference 2013You know. And you know what you would not pick. Your answer is ‘Example A’ that racial injustice is still an issue in America. And the Church. You can’t fix what you don’t see. Don’t shoot the messenger.” – Jeff Cook
anigif_enhanced-buzz-5521-1379269742-12_preview
Ann Perkins, Parks and Recreation
FGFBGH
Winston Bishp suffering from sympathy PMS, New Girl
sdf
It’s a little early for Valentines, but it’s never too early to tell someone how you feel, especially if you do it using Harry Potter terminology
yonida
“Jonida” is “Gypsee Yo” mentioned above. Hallelujah!
Image
That’s how I see it.

NaNoWriMo 2013:

  • Word count: 11,185
  • “Anything can happen out there on The Outside. In here we are so protected and safe. I’ve never even seen an animal. Of any kind. Not a live one anyway. I know that the meat we eat was once a living animal and I’ve seen Prints and Digitals of plenty of animals during my Education, but I can’t imagine seeing one in person. They must be terrifying.”
  • “After all of the preparing, I should feel more prepared. What I feel as I move quickly through the dim hallways and common areas of my home colony is nausea. But if I focus on my fears, I’ll never get through this.”

Leave a Reply

