Check this out!

This week two great things happened: November started AND I slid down a slip-n-slide fully clothed in front of some pretty impressed Las Palmas students. I also did some stuff on the internet.

Image

Articles/blog posts:

  • Seeking the good of our neighbors at between worlds – I kinda get it now that I’m the struggling to understand the language and culture of a brand new country while also working full time and paying bills and getting around and stuff.
  • The Gift of Life at Jena Haney, The World Race – My friend Jena Bea is traveling around the world this year on The World Race! She’s meeting some awesome people. Consider supporting a child in Swaziland, won’t you?
  • Show Up: a How-Not-To Guide. at Things to Come – “He didn’t die for my moral high ground. Or for my convictions. He didn’t suffer the humiliation of becoming human just so I can try to perform my way into His presence. There is no sacrifice I could bring.”
  • Creative Mom Turns Her Baby’s Naptime Into Dream Adventures at Boring Panda – The title kind of says it all.

TV/Movies:

  • Double, Double, Toil, and Trouble on YouTube – I celebrated Halloween this week by watching as many Halloween movies (that aren’t actually scary) as I could. This movie is actually legit! Obviously I loved everything Olsen Twins growing up as a girl in the 90s but watching this one as a 20-something was still enjoyable.
  • Hocus Pocus on Megashare.info – It wouldn’t be Halloween without at least one viewing of Hocus Pocus. I remember watching it when I was younger and having no idea what a “virgin” was. Heh. Also, Kenny Ortega is a stinking genius director, no? Hocus Pocus, The Newsies, High School Musical? Brilliant.
  • The Big Bang Theory Season 2 on DVD – I love the early years of this show. I have Seasons 1 and 2 almost memorized I’ve watched them so much. For a while my DVD/CD reader wasn’t actually reading any DVDs or CDs on my computer and I was afraid it was broken forever. This week, though, when I was feeling all sorry for myself (I think I have another amoeba, so good reason for a pity party) I tried it again and I’m so glad I did. I love watching The Big Bang Theory while doing things.
  • Ghostbusters on Netflix – I remember so many more ghost-sucking scenes from this movie than their actually were. I was disappointed. Ghostbusters didn’t live up to the hype of my childhood memories.
  • Beetlejuice at Viooz – A Halloween-time movie that never disappoints! Alec Baldwin was so skinny in 1988!
  • Equilibrium on Netflix – A friend came over last night to watch a movie and when I asked my roommate which movie they were going to watch she said, “Equilibrium.” I said, “That sounds like a serious movie, I don’t want to watch it.” The she said the four magic words, “Christian Bale, dystopian future.” It was great. I loved the names they had for everything – the name of the city, especially. Also, Christian Bale just generally does a good job in things. Like The Newsies, which was directed by Kenny Ortega and was Bale’s first big movie. Also, also, I often forget that Christian Bale is from the UK (Wales, to be specific), so he is almost always acting in an accent. Talented, handsome man.
Image
Here’s a screen shot of Will Truman being Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen’s dad.

(YouTube) Videos:

  • The True Story of Kid President by SoulPancake on YouTube – So cute.
  • My Last Days: Meet Shane Burcaw by SoulPancake on YouTube – I started following Shane’s blog a couple of years ago because he is HILARIOUS. He is also pretty darn inspiring. Shane has Spinal Muscular Atrophy and a kick-butt sense of humor. This is what his dad said about how he felt when he heard his son would never walk. “It was like standing on the edge of an abyss. And you could look down and let it suck you in. or look up. And rise above it.” 
  • Ohio State University’s Marching Band Pays Homage To Hollywood Blockbusters at Huffington Post – Marching bands are so cool. I mean, I can’t even plan an instrument standing still.
  • Mouse Vs Cracker by WorldWideVideos on YouTube – This little guy just never gives up and in the end it sure pays off.

Image

Today is the first day of November, which means it’s Diana’s birthday (Happy Birthday, Diana!), it’s the first day of my birthday month, and it’s the first day of National Novel Writing Month. Today on the NaNoWriMo website, James Patterson gave a few novel-writing tips. He said the first thing one should do is to create an outline. I thought I didn’t know enough about my story yet to write a chapter-by-chapter outline, and that I would figure it out as I went along. Well, lucky for me, I took his advice and wrote an outline anyway and it was a great way to figure out a lot of that stuff that I didn’t know about my story yet. Always write an outline!

Leave a Reply

