Here’s the thing about Habakkuk 3

Though the fig tree should not blossom,

nor fruit be on the vines,

the produce of the olive fail

and the fields yield no food,

the flock be cut off from the fold

and there be no herd in the stalls,

yet I will rejoice in the Lord;

I will take joy in the God of my salvation.

God, the Lord, is my strength,

he makes my feet like the deer’s;

he makes me tread on my high places.

– Habakkuk 3:17-19

Image

Even when everything is going wrong and nothing works and I feel cut off and defeated, yet I will rejoice in the Lord.

Even when I feel like I couldn’t possibly go on because of the feelings and the struggles and the me-problems, God, the Lord, is my strength. When I’m hobbling through the day, just barely making it, I lean on Him. When I have no strength of my own, I depend on Him. I humble myself before Him, acknowledging I can’t do this on my own and call out for help.

He makes my feet like the deer’s, gentle and nimble, easily traversing whatever terrain I find myself in. He makes me tread on my high places. He makes me my best. He makes me more myself. He refines me through the fire. He clears out all of the dust and junk from my soul and breathes in new life.

Even when I don’t feel like it, I will take joy in the God of my salvation. Even when I don’t feel like it.

I will sing it till I believe it.

*I used to view the Old Testament as merely a collection of stories and boring temple descriptions. Then, sometime in the past couple of years I fell in love with the Old Testament, almost preferring it to the New. The poetry speaks to my soul and I see myself in the people bumbling along through life looking for God. 

Leave a Reply

