Check this out!

I wrapped up this school week with a teacher work day and a trip to the salon. Turns out my hair can actually look really great when someone else is in charge of doing it. And for 200 pesos ($5), that nice lady can be in charge of doing my hair as much as she wants. Check out what my pretty hair and I found on the internet this week.

Image

Articles/blog posts:

TV/Movies:

  • Our Idiot Brother on Netflix – Cute, cute. Poor Ned just kept getting punished for the way he valued honesty! I can relate, Ned. Also I really enjoyed Paul Rudd’s ponytail when he and Lesbian Ann Perkins broke into Ned’s ex-girlfriend’s house to get the dog. There was one sexy-naked part I skipped over, but other than that I loved it!
  • Parks and Recreation Season 5 on Netflix – I finished it and loved every second of it. Can’t wait to get my hands on Season 6. Although I heard it was cancelled halfway through the season or something? TV people are nuts.
  • The Nightmare Before Christmas on Netflix – I totally intended to watch way more Halloween movies this month. I watched this one while dying my hair this week and wondered, as I do every time I watch this movie, whether this movie gives children nightmares or if they like it.
  • Friends with Kids on Netflix – Definitely thought this movie was going to be way funnier than it was. Un-met humor expectations weren’t the only thing that bummed me out about this movie though. Marriage was kind of seen as an awful mistake by all of the characters – married and unmarried. It’s that kind of marriage-portrayal in the media that is destroying the sanctity of marriage if you ask me. In the end Maya Rudolph and Annie’s cop boyfriend from Bridesmaids did have a nice relationship and Adam Scott (seriously, did I watch enough Adam Scott this week?) and the girl with the weird mouth ended up together I guess, but it took forever. Final verdict: Too long and not funny enough. (Although I did really like when Maya Rudolph said that her husband goes into the bathroom with a laptop and a sandwich and he said, “I like to take my time.” It wasn’t all bad.)

Music:

  • Hayden Browning EP at Amazon – I went to college with this guy and I LOVED whenever he sang ANYTHING. I always hoped he’d make music I could buy after we graduated and he did! I hope he keeps ’em coming! (You can also download the EP on iTunes.)
  • Phillip Phillips Pandora Station – Loving the crap out of this mix of musicians. Ah, Phillip Phillips, won’t you be my man? Plus so much Imagine Dragons and Mumford and Sons and The Lumineers and OneRepublic and everything white girls like me love. Wrecking Ball by Miley Cyrus came on today and I had never heard it before. Loved it. I know new butt-bearing Miley Cyrus has everyone all worked up but I am DIGGING the new music, girl. Can’t help it. We can’t stop, right MIley?

(YouTube) Videos:

General good finds:

  • Harry Potter Monopoly – Please, please, please, please, please, please, please! My birthday is next month.
  • “Our culture has accepted two huge lies. The first is that if you disagree with someone’s lifestyle, you must fear or hate them. The second is that to love someone means you agree with everything they believe or do. Both are nonsense. You don’t have to compromise convictions to be compassionate.” – Rick Warren
Image
I’ve definitely argued “I could care less” on more than one occasion. If you could care less, then it’s not really worth saying, right?
Image
There’s always something teachery I could be doing.

Image

Leave a Reply

