Check this out!

My laptop was down for a full 36 hours this week plus I started tutoring full time (3 hours each afternoon Monday-Thursday) so this week’s internet finds are a little sparse.

Picture of the week:

Image
I got a new bed this week without making any plans to get rid of my old bed so for now it’s leaning against the wall in my bedroom. Strawberry likes to climb up the ol’ lumpy twin mattress and lord over the rest of us.

Articles/Blog posts:

  • How I Met Your Mother Is Basically Just A Remake Of Friends at Imgur – Makes sense, actually. Although my friend Mary has a theory that every person is a combination of two Friends, and I don’t think the theory would extend to the HIMYM gang.
  • Astonishing Photos of Marvelous Places Around the World at Top Dreamer Magazine – Although my desire to travel only extends as long as an 8 hour plane ride (anything longer than that and I’m out, is what I’m saying) I sure do enjoy looking at pictures of far away lands!
  • God Does Not Have a Plan for Your Life at ChristianStandard – On God’s sovereignty versus our free will. Liberating stuff, I’d say.
  • Surprise Hoedown and a Side of Grace at Five Kids Is A Lot of Kids – This gal is one of my favorite bloggers (for obvious hilarious reasons) and this year to celebrate her 40th birthday she is celebrating 40 days of grace – “just grace because we’re all worthy of gross, unreasonable displays of generosity and love.”

TV:

Image

I found Glee Season 4! It’s a ridiculous frenzy of short bursts of relationships and a lot of insanity but I love love love Glee. I realize it’s insane to feel what I feel for imaginary people and their imaginary relationships but Kurt and Blaine break up this season and I’m heartbroken. Also, watching Finn do anything (like be smoking hot! seriously, he was always my favorite but geeze he showed up and showed out this season) is SO SAD and I saw that Fox is doing a Tribute to Finn episode and I don’t think I can bear it. Sigh.

Books:

  • Pigs Can’t Swim by Helen Peppe – This memoir was delightful! But not without it’s darkness. Such is life, right? “When I saw the that’s-life expression applied as an inevitability for unnecessary suffering and death, I felt hate take root and bloom in my gut.” Believe it or not, it ends with a precious love story.
  • Papa, Please Get the Moon for Me by Eric Carle – The seventh grade girl I tutor and I read this book this week. As an early childhood educator I am obviously a huge fan of Eric Carle, but this week was my first experience with this particular book. Both the seventh grader and I both had open mouths at more than one point during the book. It’s so great! And beautiful! And it has pop-ups! (But you probably shouldn’t assume that just because my mouth gaped open in awe that yours will too. I am pretty easy to impress when it comes to pop-ups and pretty colors.)
  • Fortune’s Pawn by Rachel Bach – Yes, yes!! So great! Future and space and aliens and love and a strong female lead but also a kind, sweet-faced meditating lady who is valued just as much. This book reminded me of These Broken Stars which I also love-loved. They both use the word “terraform” (when I saw it in Fortune’s Pawn I was like, “I know that word!”) and talk about the colonization of planets. I wonder if Rachel Bach and Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner are friends. I just so admire these brilliant people who can come up with whole words while I struggle to come up with blog posts. Yay imagination! Also, there is a sequel to Fortune’s Pawn coming out in February and I’m really excited about that because when I reached the end of this book, I (with attitude) set my Kindle down on my bed like, “That’s it? I want more!”
  • Oh, the Places You’ll Go! by Dr. Seuss – Again, remember that I am a teacher, a molder-of-the-minds! I read this book today with the two sixth grade fellas that I tutor. (Can you imagine ESL students reading Dr. Seuss? It’s great.) Now this wasn’t my first experience with this gem but just hearing it/reading it again pumps me up about life. I think I need a copy of this book to read whenever I’m feeling down.
  • A Year Without Make-Up: Tales of a 20-Something Traveler by Stephanie Yoder – I read this book today in about 45 minutes. I was drawn in by the title because I too am a 20-Something also experiencing a year (slash lifetime) without make-up and despite my objections to long flights (see above) I do enjoy the occasional travel. Well, I’m sad to say I was disappointed. The book was not very well organized, Yoder kept switching from present to past tense (are we with you? are you in Asia now? what’s happening?), and I’m not sure what the purpose of the book was. It’s kind of a bummer because I actually paid like, two whole dollars for this book and I don’t usually pay dollars for books. I guess it wasn’t all bleak – I feel confident that if this woman can make a living by writing surely I can make back my two dollars and then some with a book of my own some day.
  • The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton – I started this one hoping to refresh my brain from A Year Without Make-Up and was so pleasantly refreshed! This book is whimsy + real life, imagination + reality, sorrow + hope and I’m only three chapters in. Hooray for Leslye Walton!

(YouTube) Videos:

Image

Leave a Reply

