Here’s the thing about Abram

I keep going back to the story of Abram.

The first time God gives the command “Fear not,” in the Bible, He is reminding Abram of His promise to Him. In Genesis 12 we read about God’s command to Abram to leave his homeland and go. In the spring of 2012 God asked me to leave my home and go. Later on in Genesis 12 we read about God’s promise to Abram, to bless him and to make him into many nations.

In the first verse of Genesis 15, God tells Abram to, “Fear not,” because He is still planning on making him into many nations. He says, “Fear not, Abram, I am your shield; your reward shall be very great.” God reminds Abram of His continued presence and His promise. I keep going back to the story of Abram because it is a story about God’s faithfulness and patience.

No matter how many times Abram messes up, no matter how many times he tells people his wife is really his sister, no matter how many times he doubts God’s promises, God reassures him with reminders of His faithfulness. No matter how many times I mess up, no matter how many times I snap at someone in impatience and pride, no matter how many times I doubt God’s promises, God reassures me of His faithfulness through stories like Abram’s.

The Lord promised Abram a son, and even after Abram and his wife took matters into their own hands in an attempt to rush God’s plans, the Lord fulfilled His promises to Abram and blessed him with a son – 20 years after He asked Abram to leave his home.

I am so impatient. I am impatiently waiting for a husband, impatiently waiting for the weather to cool, impatiently waiting for my students to learn English, and impatiently waiting to be awesome at speaking Spanish. Through all this I must remember that God’s timing is perfect and if I try to rush things, God isn’t the one who changes. If I try to rush things and do them my way, I am settling for less than the best. When I am impatient, I miss out on God’s best promises.

I keep going back to the story of Abram because despite our HUGE differences, we are so much alike. I keep going back to the story of Abram because I need to be reminded of God’s goodness, faithfulness, and patience. Because I am not good, faithful, or patient. Because even though Abram messed up and lied and knocked up his wife’s handmaid, God’s promises didn’t change or fail. Even though I fail into sin and temptation and do what I don’t want to do and mess up and doubt, God’s promises don’t change or fail.

I keep going back to the story of Abram because I need to remind myself again that even though I change, God never does. He was faithful in keeping His promises to Abram and He will be faithful in keeping His promises to me – promises to restore and redeem me, to sanctify and save me, to make me more like His Son.

Leave a Reply

