Malecón

I decided to try my hand at fiction. I have no idea if it’s worth reading.

Image

“Do you want to go with me?” I said, not looking at him.

“Where are we going?” he asked, turning to look at me.

“That doesn’t really answer my question.” I was testing him.

He let out a long breath, ran his hand through his hair and said, “Okay. Let’s go.”

We flagged down a couple of motoconchos and I whispered in his driver’s ear. “Si, yo sé,” the driver nodded. He looked tired but held a quiet joy. I hopped on the back of my motoconcho, told him to follow the other, and we were off.

At the cafeteria (food stand) I ordered two orders of tostones “para llevar” showing off my Spanish. The fried plantains were ready quickly. We grabbed the bags and rejoined our motoconcho drivers in the shade.

When we arrived he was speechless. To be honest, the view kind of took my breath away and I had been to this spot so many times. The sun was setting and the last lights of the day were shining on the ocean. There were countless restaurants and bars full of people less than a mile from where we stood but there on that beach we felt completely alone – just us and the sound of waves crashing against the sand.

Do you not fear me? declares the Lord. Do you not tremble before me? I placed the sand as the boundary for the sea, a perpetual barrier that it cannot pass; though the waves toss, they cannot prevail; though they roar, they cannot pass over it. – Jeremiah 5:22

This verse meant something to me then on the edge of the cast ocean. There was no place I’d rather be than there on the shore, where I could feel the sea. Everybody can smell the salt and hear the wave but I can feel the ocean deep in my bones – its consistent pounding waves had become my heartbeat and its vast unknown mirrored my soul.

I broke my own spell. “So, what do you think?”

“It’s great! It’s amazing. I didn’t realize the city was so close to the water.”

He lit up. He felt it too.

Leave a Reply

