Here’s the thing about having a thing

Everyone has a thing. Some bloggers are photographers. Some bloggers have a bunch of kids. Some bloggers are crazy about women’s rights. Some bloggers are super funny. You get the idea. I’ve been wondering for a while now if I should have a thing. Then I started wondering if having a thing was such a good idea. What if having a thing narrows my (imaginary) audience? What if having a thing narrows my writing? What if there is a missionary out there with many more tattoos than me and they find my blog and mock me? But then I thought: What if having a thing hooks and intrigues people? What if having a thing makes me memorable? And in the end, if I’m honest, I want more people to read my blog (for whatever selfish and unselfish reasons). I thought that maybe my thing could be an overuse of parenthesis – and maybe one day I’ll be the parenthetical missionary – but my ever growing tattoo collection is much cooler than my tendency to overuse punctuation (do parenthesis count as punctuation?) and probably more memorable.

So here I am. The tattooed missionary. Still unsure if this is a good idea.

Leave a Reply

